HangOut is a simple Android app to follow your family and friends on the map and know where they hang out. You can share a link, so others can follow your trip real-time on Google Maps. HangOut can automatically send a text message when you have arrived safely at you destination. If you enable the GPS, colored dots from blue (0 km/h) through red (50 km/h) will indicate the velocity on your trip.
Initially, you will see an overview page with your own location and the location of your contacts.
By tapping on an icon, you can switch to the trip information of that person.
With the back button or by tapping twice on the map, you can switch back to the overview page.
HangOut gives you 3 options to record your location:
- Pause: Course location every hour
- Economic: Coarse location every 5 minutes
- Accurate: Exact location every minute
The refresh option will switch back to the overview page and update all location information.
With the invite option you can share a link, so others can follow your trip real-time on Google Maps. The invite screen will allow you to select for how long the invitation will be valid.
The link can be shared with any text messaging app installed on your smartphone, including SMS, Email, WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, etcetera.
If you receive such a message, you can open the link with a browser to view that person on Google Maps. If you open the link with HangOut, you will automatically add that person to your contacts.
With the delete option, you can delete your location information. The delete screen will allow you to select until when your location information will be deleted.
With the contact option, you can view a list of contacts and select contacts for viewing by tapping the star icon or remove contacts from the list by tapping the trashcan icon.
An icon with a red cross indicates that the invitation has expired and the contact should be removed from the list.
With the profile option, you can edit your profile information. The profile screen will allow you to edit your name and icon.
By tapping twice on the icon, you will open the image gallery where you can select an image. The selected image will appear in the icon area, where you can pan and pinch to zoom.
With the underway option, you can inform someone that you are on your way to a specific location bij foot, bike or car.
The underway screen will allow you to select one or more companions and a destination from your contacts. You can also enter a destination manually.
By tapping the start button, you will begin your trip and your companions will receive a text message with a link to follow you on Google Maps.
Once you arrive at your destination, your companions will be notified with another text message.
By tapping the stop button, you will cancel your trip and your companions will be notified with another text message.
With the about option, you will open the about screen with version information and an on-line help page.